Announcements, Awards

Faculty Recieve Departmental Awards

Matthew Hofer, Professor of American Literary Studies and British & Irish Literary Studies, and Director of Literature, is the recipient of the Elizabeth Wertheim Faculty Research Award, an award that is given to senior faculty for noteworthy contributions to the English Department and UNM at large. Hofer published two books in 2020: LEGEND, The Complete Facsimile in Context and Bruce Andrews and Charles Bernstein’s L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E: The Complete Facsimile (both with Michael Golston). His monograph, Omnicompetent Modernists: Poetry, Politics, and the Public Sphere, then under contract with the University of Alabama Press, was published in 2022. This award also acknowledges the breadth and depth of Hofer’s teaching and service.

Bernadine Hernández, Assistant Professor of American Literary Studies, is the recipient of the Keleher/Telfair Hendon Award, an award that goes to junior professors for noteworthy contributions to the English Department. Hernández published an article in 2020, “(Re) Signifying Gender and Sexuality for the Nueva Mexicana Historical Body” and has many more in the pipeline. She had her substantial co-edited collection, Transnational Latinx Perspectives on Ana Castillo,in production with the University of Pittsburgh Press (published in 2021). Furthermore, her monograph, Border Bodies: Racialized Sexuality, Sexual Capital, and Violence in the Nineteenth-Century Borderlands, then accepted at University of North Carolina Press, was published in 2022. With this award, This award also acknowledges Hernández’s dedicated mentorship of graduate students and her community-engaged scholarship with the fronteristxs collective.