Professors Receive Departmental Awards

Drs. Melina Vizcaino-Aleman & Sarah Townsend

Dr. Sarah Townsend is the recipient of the Keleher/Telfair Hendon Award, an award that goes to junior professors for noteworthy contributions to the English Department. Dr. Townsend published in 2017 two substantial articles on Robert Duncan and on Nathaniel Mackey and had a stunning six articles, along with her book Developmental Drift: Generic Evolution and Bildung in Modern Irish Literature and a co-edited collection on The Global Bildungsroman in the publication pipeline. For this excellent research output and her invigoration of Irish Studies at UNM, including a successful study abroad program to Ireland, she deserves the Keleher/Telfair Hendon award.

Dr. Melina Vizcaino-Alemán is the recipient of the Elizabeth Wertheim Faculty Research Award an award that is given to senior faculty for noteworthy contributions to the English Department and UNM at large. Dr. Vizcaino-Alemán published in 2017 Gender and Place in Chicana/o Literature: Critical Regionalism and the Mexican American Southwest (Palgrave MacMillan) as well as a slew of smaller pieces. This award also recognizes the unflagging work that Dr. Vizcaino-Alemán has done with the Rudolfo Anaya Lecture Series that is going into its 10th year.