2018-2019 CTE Teaching Awards Recipients

Sponsored by the Faculty Senate Teaching Enhancement Committee and the Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE), Teaching Awards recognize UNM’s outstanding educators. Each year the Faculty Senate Teaching Enhancement Committee selects recipients for a variety of campus-wide teaching awards. This year, four from the English Department received awards for their
dedication to excellence in teaching.

Bethany Davila and Cristyn Elder, both Associate Professors of Rhetoric and Writing, were named Outstanding Teacher(s) of the Year.

Amy Gore, a graduating PhD Candidate in American Literary Studies, was named a Susan Deese-Roberts Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the Year.

Principal Lecturer of Rhetoric and Writing, Julie Newmark was named Lecturer of the Year.

Congratulations to all! We are proud and pleased to have such excellence within our Department.