Skip to main content

The Anaya Lecture on the Literature of the Southwest

Thanks to a generous contribution from the renowned fiction writer Rudolfo Anaya and his late wife Patricia Anaya, the UNM English Department established the Rudolfo & Patricia Anaya Lecture on the Literature of the Southwest in 2010. The annual lecture series brings together students, faculty, and community members to address the rich traditions of Southwest literature and new directions in literary and cultural scholarship for our dynamic region.

The annual Anaya Lecture is free and open to the public.

This Year

Rigoberto Gonzalez

Thursday, September 29
6:30 PM
George Pearl Hall 101

Rigoberto GonzalezRigoberto González is the author of fourteen books, including four books of poetry; ten books of fiction, including a novel (Crossing Vines 2003, winner of ForeWord Magazine’s Fiction Book of the Year Award); a collection of short stories (Men Without Bliss 2008); two bilingual children’s books and a series of young adult novels; and three books of nonfiction. His first poetry collection, So Often the Pitcher Goes to Water Until It Breaks (1999), was a National Poetry Series selection, and his recent poetry collection, Unpeopled Eden (2013) was the winner of the Lambda Literary Award and the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. His first memoir, Butterfly Boy: Memories of a Chicano Mariposa (2006) won the American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation. His most recent book is the chapbook Our Lady of the Crossword (2015). González also edited Camino del Sol: Fifteen Years of Latino and Latina Writing and has been a tireless supporter of Latino/a writing. His awards include a Guggenheim and NEA fellowships, the Shelley Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America, as well as the Poetry Center Book Award, the Barnes & Noble Writer for Writers Award, and The Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Publishing Triangle in 2015.

You can learn more about the author and his work at

Past Events

2015 - Anne Hillerman

2015 Lecture Poster

Anne Hillerman is the author of eight published non-fiction books and has worked as an editorial page editor, arts editor, and food critic for the Albuquerque Journal and the Santa Fe New Mexican. Anne Hillerman’s first novel, Spider Woman’s Daughter (2013), made the New York Times bestseller list and received the 2014 Spur Award for the Best First Mystery from Western Writers of America. The book also received two New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards for Best Book and Best Mystery of 2014. She recently published a second mystery novel, Rock With Wings (2015), and is currently working on a third.

More information

2014 - Ana Castillo

2014 Lecture Poster

Ana Castillo is one of the leading figures in Chicana and contemporary literature. A celebrated poet, novelist, short story writer, essayist, editor, playwright, translator and independent scholar, Castillo is the author of the novels So Far From God and Sapogonia, both New York Times Notable Books of the Year, as well as The Guardians, Peel My Love like an Onion, and many other books of fiction, poetry, and essays. Her most recent novel is Give it to Me, and the 20th anniversary edition of her groundbreaking book The Massacre of the Dreamers: Essays on Xicanisma will be published this October by the University of New Mexico Press.

More information

2013 - N. Scott Momaday

2013 Lecture Poster

N. Scott Momaday is one of the most distinguished writers of our time. His first novel House Made of Dawn was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1969, an event that brought new visibility to American Indian literature and literature of the Southwest, a landscape that has inflected his fiction, poetry, and paintings for decades.

More information

For a complete listing of the entire series of Anaya Lectures, please see the Lecture Archives page.

Rudolfo Anaya

Rudolfo AnayaBorn in New Mexico in 1937, Rudolfo Anaya is a foundational figure in contemporary Chicana/o literature. His critically acclaimed novel Bless Me, Ultima has reached a broad global audience since its initial publication in 1972. Set in rural New Mexico in the 1940's, the novel addresses land, language, and cultural identity through the story of a young boy’s relationship with the curandera named Ultima. The novel was selected by the National Endowment for the Arts as a classic American novel for The Big Read program and is taught regularly in high schools and colleges. An independent film adaptation of the novel was released in 2012 by writer and director Carl Franklin.

Rudolfo Anaya is the author of more than 15 novels and story collections, 10 children’s books, multiple works of nonfiction, and several plays. The novels Heart of Aztlan (1978) and Tortuga (1979) complete a trilogy that began with Bless Me, Ultima. His work also includes the Sonny Baca quartet of detective novels, Albuquerque (1992),The Many Who Could Fly and Other Stories (2006), and Randy Lopez Goes Home (2011). Anaya’s many honors and awards include the Premio Quinto Sol for Chicano literature, the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) National Medal of Arts Lifetime Honor, the American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation, the People’s Choice Award from the New Mexico Book Awards, and the Robert Kirsch Award for lifetime achievement from the Los Angeles Times.

Anaya graduated from the University of New Mexico in 1963 and returned as a professor in the Department of English Language and Literature from 1974–1993. "The English Department cherishes the fact that Emeritus Professor Rudy Anaya was on our faculty for so many years. A founder of our distinguished Creative Writing Program, he still inspires us with his joyous approach to life, sense of humor, and eloquent articulation of Hispanic culture and the beauties of the Southwest. He has long been an internationally known man of letters, but we take pride in the fact that he began his career in our department," says Professor and Department Chair Gail Houston. "We feel privileged to have received his generous donation, and we look forward to sharing this free event with everyone on campus and in the community. There is no better venue for celebrating Southwest literature than the UNM Department of English."

The valuable collections of the UNM Center for Southwest Research include the complete papers of Rudolfo A. Anaya, 1960–2004

The collection includes manuscripts of Rudolfo Anaya’s published and unpublished work, materials from his career as a professor, and correspondence with colleagues and students, with a primary focus on Chicano/a culture and New Mexico’s cultural landscape.

Show Your Support

To contribute to the Anaya Lecture Series on the Literature of the Southwest, or to support Hispanic students working towards a Master of Fine Arts in creative writing via the Rudolfo Anaya Fellowship Fund , contact the UNM Foundation directly via their secure giving website or at 1–800–UNM–FUND (866–3863).

For additional information about the Anaya Lecture series, contact

Department of English Language and Literature
Humanities Building, Second Floor
MSC03 2170
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

Phone: (505) 277-6347
Fax: (505) 277-0021