Department of English Language and Literature

MSC03 2170
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

Physical Location:
Humanities
Second Floor

Phone: (505) 277-6347
Fax: (505) 277-0021

Current Internship Opportunities


Access Innovations
Marjorie Hlava
265-3591
mhlava@accessinn.com
Tasks: Write press releases and documentation manuals
$8 ph
Albuquerque Bio Park
Amy Landers, Marketing Manager
764-6236
alanders@cabq.gov
Tasks: Write public service announcements, press releases, and reports; conduct research
Volunteer
Albuquerque Convention
and Visitors Bureau
PR Internship

Dennis DeVaal, HR Manager
Phone:222-4344
email: jobs@itsatrip.org
Tasks: Assist with PR and advertising
Volunteer
Albuquerque The Magazine
Justin Johnson, Operations Director
842-1110
Justin@abqthemag.com
Tasks: Work on specific projects, articles and issues.
Volunteer
Amador Publishers, LLC
Zelda L. Gordon a.k.a. Zelda Gatuskin
505-344-6102
zelda@amadorbooks.com
Tasks: Prepare website content and public relations materials
Volunteer
Bernalillo County Metropolitan Court
Janet Blair
Phone: 841-9897 or 401-9669
email: jblair@metrocourt.state.nm.us
Tasks: Write news releases & other copy, website development
Volunteer
Creative Content LLC
Jeff Zeter
email: jepuhz@creativecontentllc.com
Tasks: Writing a variety of text for English as a Foreign Language student books, workbooks, readers, proficiency tests and classroom materials
Paid position: $10 per hour
Crossroads For Women
KC Quirk, Executive Director
email: exec.dir@crossroadsabq.org
Tasks: Research, writing research based templates for use with grants and community education pieces
Volunteer
EC-Council
Deborah Geoffrion
Phone: 341-3228 ex 108
email: deborahg@eccuni.us
Tasks: Edit courseware, press releases, website & presentations
Volunteer/Possible Paid
Griffin & Associates
Joan Griffin or Dezaree Vega
764-4444
jgriffin@griffinassoc.com
dvega@griffinassoc.com
Tasks: Create press releases and write ad copy
Volunteer
Hale Dixon Law Firm
Tim Hale
232-6634
thale@hdnmlaw.com
Tasks: Scheduling, document gathering
Volunteer
Journeys in Film – Educating for Global Understanding
Anna Rutins, Director of Program Development
867-4666
anna@journeysinfilm.org
Tasks: Developing web content, research, copy editing
Volunteer with possibility of honorarium upon completion
KNME-TV, New Mexico in Focus
Kevin McDomald
277-1242
kmcdonald@knme.org
Tasks: Research, develop interview questions, write scripts, develop online content, & other tasks
Volunteer
Laguna Construction Company, Inc.
Matt Hendrickson
505.890.5441
matt.hendrickson@lccabq.com
Tasks: Corporate Statement of Qualifications, website
Negotiable
Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Deborah Hoffman
872-0141
hoffmand@lls.org
Tasks: Newsletter & website, media development
Volunteer
Menaul School
Nancy Twite
Director of Alumni & Parent Relations
Phone: 341-7236
ntwite@menaulschool.com
Tasks: Newsletter & website
Volunteer
National Hispanic Cultural Center
Dr. Shelle Sánchez, Director of Education
General oversight of internships
505-246-2261, ext. 167
Shelle.sanchez@state.nm.us


Michele Carter, Creative Director
Supervisor for interns in the Creative Services
505-246-2261, ext. 107
Michele@tricyclecreative.com

Tasks: copy writing, copy editing and proofing for various design projects (in print, online, etc.)
Volunteer
National Museum of Nuclear Science and History
Jeanette Miller, Director of Marketing and PR
Phone: 245-2137, ext. 102
email: jkmill@sandia.gov
Tasks: Work on all organization external communications, web updates, announcements, and newsletter articles
Volunteer
New Mexico AIDS Services Inc
Jessica Molzen, Director of Development
938.7120
jmolzen@nmas.net
Tasks: Grant writing, public relations, social services
Volunteer
New Mexico Ethics Alliance
Jill VonOsten
vonosten@mgt.unm.edu
Tasks: Articles, profiles, other copy
Volunteer
New Mexico MarketPlace
Rena Larranaga, Editor
888-0500 ext. 102
rena@nmmarketplace.com
Tasks: Profiles, bylined articles
Paid position
New Mexico Museum of Natural History
Becky Pate 841-2877
Donna Domenici 841-2889
Tim Aydelott 841-2845
Tasks: various newsletters, editing
Volunteer
New Mexico Public Interest Research Group Student Chapter
Jamison Tessneer – UNM Campus Organizer
277-2757; 218-831-4118
jamison@nmpirg.org
Tasks: Professional documents, press releases, news advisories
Volunteer
New Mexico Voices for Children
Sharon Kayne
244-9505 X 30
skayne@nmvoices.org
Tasks: Write press releases & media advisories
Volunteer
Office of the State Historian/State Records Center and Archives                       
Rick Hendricks, State Historian
476.7995                                
rick.hendricks@state.nm.us            
www.newmexicohistory.org
Tasks: Website editing; historical research; website content development
Planned Parenthood
of New Mexico

Sunny Holmes, Grants Manager
Phone: 265-5976
sholmes@ppnewmex.org
Tasks: Help with grant writing and research
Volunteer
Popejoy Hall
Patricia O'Connor
Phone: 277-0672
treecia@unm.edu
Tasks: Write press releases and other documents, edit, proofread
$8 ph
Radio Disney
Lynn Southard, Station Manger Radio Disney AM 1240
Phone: 505-244-1100  
E-mail: c.lynn.southard@abc.com
Tasks: Interview set up, pre-interview, interview itself.
Volunteer
Rhizo Tech
Janet Yagoda Shagam
298-2163
Email: janetyagoda@comcast.net
Tasks: Edit articles and book chapters
Volunteer
Ronald McDonald House
Sandy Mann
Executive Director
Phone: (505) 842-8960
Tasks: Write grant applications
Volunteer
Route 66 Oral History Office
Professor David Dunaway
Phone: 277-4438 or 345-0185
wrtgsw@unm.edu
Tasks: Redesign website
Volunteer - honorarium possible
Santa Fe Public School System
Erica Landry
Phone: 505.467.2030
email: elandry@sfps.info
Tasks: Research, do interviews, write for the website
Possibility of pay
Special Olympics New Mexico
Oscar Solis
Director of Media & Public Relations
Email: oscarsolis@sonm.org
Phone: (505) 856-0342
Tasks: Write press releases, announcements and newsletter articles
Volunteer
Sandia Preparatory School
Celeste A. Walther, APR
Director of Marketing
cwalther@sandiaprep.org
Tasks: Writing PR, web design, desktop publishing
Volunteer
Student Family Housing Resident's Association
Alissa Sanchez
(505) 363-1866
lissard9@unm.edu
Tasks: Design web site, flyers and posters; edit newsletter
Volunteer
Student Rights Campaign
Donna Lish
400-8182 Grant Writing
Paid
Ultramain Software
Karen Ross
505-828-9000
jobs@ultramain.com
Tasks: Tasks will include writing product manuals, online help, product overviews, and whitepapers
Paid
University Communication and Marketing
Carolyn Gonzales
Phone: 277-5920, 249-4669
cgonzal@unm.edu
Tasks: Write stories and briefs, create flyers, possibly update website
Volunteer
UNM Athletics Department
Greg Remington
925-5520
gregrem@unm.edu
Tasks: Write feature stories and Audio/Video, assist with event management, clerical duties
Volunteer
UNM Center for Life - Preventive & Integrative Medicine Specialty Clinic
Michelle Hale
Program Coordinator
505-925-4551
mmcbain@unmmg.org
Tasks: Research, produce grant template, help with newsletter, conduct interviews, etc.
Volunteer, with training and education opportunities
UNM Foundation
Chris Elliott
277-3415
celliott@unmfund.org
Todd Staats
tstaats@unm.edu
Tasks: Write news and feature stories, proofread as needed
$9 ph
Wordplay, Inc
Molly Luethi
203-6255
mollyluethi@aol.com
Tasks: write grants
Volunteer